print print  |  share share African Junior Professionals Fellows Program


African Junior Professionals Fellows Program

Since 2008, IPI has worked in partnership with King’s College London in bringing a select group of young African scholars to New York to study the evolving role of the United Nations on African peace and security issues. The African Junior Professionals Fellows Program provides an intensive exposure to the work of the United Nations Secretariat, as well as interaction with the broader UN policy community. IPI has hosted 31 African scholars since the program began.

The primary objective of the program, established in 2006 by Prof. Funmi Olonisakin of King’s College London, is to provide young African scholars with the professional training and knowledge which will enable them to work in mid-career positions in various African Institutions (the African Union [AU], the Economic Community of West African States [ECOWAS], the Southern African Development Community [SADC] etc.). The program's objectives relate directly to the goals of the African Union and the United Nations in seeking to develop the skills of the next generation of African leaders who will be engaged in managing and ultimately leading these institutions in coming years.

For information on programs offered by King’s College London and the African Leadership Centre, please visit their postgraduate degree page.

The video below, from King's College's, includes appearances by all eight of the 2010 Fellows:

Inspired by this video, the 2010 Fellows created their own video about their experience at IPI, now posted on YouTube.

2013 Fellows
Dalaya Ashenafi Esayiyays (Ethiopia)
Noun Sharif Ali Gigir (Sudan)
Muliro Wilfred Nasong’o (Kenya)
Nompilo Ndlovu (Zimbabwe)
Clement Sefa-Nyarko (Ghana)
Sonja Theron (South Africa)

2011 Fellows
Abeer Abdelhafiz Ahmed Omer (Sudan)

Tendai Mtukwa (Zimbabwe)

Nyaradzo Mutonhori (Zimbabwe)

Alfred Muteru Ndumo (Kenya)

Olojo Akinola (Nigeria)

Seruyange Susan (Uganda)

2010 Fellows
Oluwatoyin Ajao (Nigeria)

Phidelia Amey (Ghana)

Saramba Kandeh (Sierra Leone)

Vicky Karimi (Kenya)

Debra Mwase (Zimbabwe)

Shuvai Nyoni (Zimbabwe)

Selamawit Terefe (Ethiopia)

Myriam Wedraogo (Burkina Faso)

2009 Fellows
Paschal Badong (Ghana)

Abratha Doe (Liberia)

Abigail Gyimah (Ghana)

Edefe Ojomo (Nigeria)

Birikit Terefe Tiruneh (Ethiopia)

E. Njoki Wamai (Kenya)

2008 Fellows
Ebenezer Asiedu (Ghana)

Patricia Jallah-Scott (Liberia)

Jimam T. Lar (Nigeria)

Salama Njie (Gambia)

Okey Uzoechina (Nigeria)